A Lentil and the ABCs

Some of us have been waiting with bated breath for the sequel of one of the better YouTube videos around.  That’s right, folks. Marcel the Shell is BACK.

 

In a similar vein, I just learned that a video I posted, oh, five years ago, has reached 9,659 hits.  Obviously the Marcel the Shell video got about ten times that many views in its first day alone, but for a rudimentary, pixelated midterm editing project that I shot in my living room with a green sheet, semi-posable art class wooden hand, and the patient help of an awesome, awesome friend, 9,659 hits is pretty great.  Even if they were spread over five years.  The best part about the whole thing isn’t even my juvenile approach to stop motion (for which I earned an A, HA!); it’s the song. You can’t find this video if you search for it with general terms in YouTube.  It’s buried waaaay deep down.  So while I guess those 9,659 people who watched it might be spending a little too much time online, I thank them for their viewership. Onwards to 10,000!

 

3 thoughts on “A Lentil and the ABCs

  1. WE ARE OBSESSED WITH MARCEL. Last year when I was still in NY, I made Scott a Marcel the Shell. Like, I went to the craft store and got glue all over myself and made a Marcel. I had to get the shoes at FAO Schwarz and in the end it didn’t look anything like Marcel. Did you read the article about how Jennie Slate made that up when she was sharing a hotel room with a ton of SNL people at a wedding? I think that might be a reference in Part II— when Marcel says they slept 8 to the piece of bread.

    • that is so awesome. i am proud of you for even trying. do you still have it? i think i’d videotape myself doing other marcel the shell episodes but then lose my lust for life after realizing they weren’t even half as good as the real thing.

      • I think we do.

        “Compared to what?” (from Part I) has now become a conversational staple of ours, said in a Marcel voice. It hilariously applies to lots of situations.

        Take care!

Leave a Reply

